28 – Plan A Young Adult Retreat

Young Adult retreats changed my life. Ask those who have known me long enough, they’ll tell you. When they first met me I was painfully shy. I would keep to myself and the two best friends I would meet there. I forced myself to be social only once they left – always one night early. It was hard for me. I had been homeschooled for most of my life, my family isn’t really social, and I didn’t know how to join cliques. I learned you don’t. Some people helped me out though. There were a few guys who chose to be friendly despite my painfully shy ways and a few girls who dared look past the surface too. I’m grateful for you all. I’ll bet some of you don’t even realize what you did. I’ll love you forever.

If you met me now, you would hardly guess that was me. You can ask my preschool teacher. I’m more secure in my skin. Conversations with me can still be awkward, but once I relax, you’ll easily be able to see the real me. I’m an open book. My God, the Love of my life, has taught me to be everything I am. Everything I prayed I would become, He talked me through. Those young adult retreats were part of my training ground. He stretched me, taught me a lot, and pushed me outside of my comfort zone.

Now is the time for me to give back. I’m in a relationship and reaching the high end of the age bracket for these events. This means I am on my way out of the young adult circle. The best thing I can think to do is give back what I’ve been given – a retreat from the pressures of every day life to spend quality time with His people, learning His ways, and growing.

YHWH has put it upon my heart to plan the next young adult retreat. I have started talking to key people and got the ball rolling. Prayerfully, I will continue to pursue His will. Through our discussions, we chose a when, a where, and a theme. A bit more of the planning rests on my shoulders, but I’m eager to learn and determined to follow Him no matter what that means.

Please join me in prayer for this,
Simone

One thought on “28 – Plan A Young Adult Retreat

Leave a Reply

