32 – Write To A Company

A couple months ago, I locked myself out of my car. I’m terrible about sending ‘thank you’s, but you know that already.

This story starts when I stopped for gas.

The wind whipped around me when I opened my door, stepped out of the car, and walked around it to pay for gas at the pump. While I waited, I thought it would be wise to put on my thick gloves sitting on the front car seat. I unlocked my door, grabbed my gloves, hit the lock button, and shut the door. Immediately a sinking feeling hit me – hard. I forced my eyes to look at the seat in front of me. There they sat. You guessed it. My keys.

I reached for my phone and my heart sank. My eyes flew back to the inside of the car and saw it lying there. I prayed over the car and tried several doors, praying God would let me back inside it. All the while, I kept an eye on the pump and removed it from my car when it was done. After trying one more door with no luck, I looked upward and told God I trusted Him and knew He had my best interest in mind.

Shivering from the cold, I went inside to ask for assistance. Two young men were behind the counter. I calmly explained I’d locked my keys in the car. Immediately, they said they could get me numbers for a locksmith I could call. When I told them my phone was locked in the car too, I choked back tears. I didn’t want to be that girl who broke down and cried over this. They generously offered me a phone and a local locksmith number. Their voicemail said, “Press 5 for locksmithing services.” I did. “We do not offer that service. Goodbye.” I laughed, but my heart had sunk. He handed me the next number. “I am out of town until Tuesday, December 27,” the voicemail said. My heart sunk further. The third number he handed me could take care of my car, but it would be $75 and at least a half hour wait. I felt numb – slightly relieved, but disappointed in myself that my forgetfulness would cost me so much.

One young man offered me a cup of coffee while I waited. The other young man asked what kind of car I had and offered to try unlocking my car the way he had unlocked his recently. (We both have Subaru’s.)

We walked outside. He inspected my car and discovered my window seal covers more area than his. We were unsuccessful in unlocking the car ourselves. After we were back inside, they asked if I had another key at home and if someone could bring it to me. I automatically said no, but then rethought it. Asking for the phone, I called my mom. No answer. I called my dad. My mom answered his phone. Smiling at our odd game of phone tag, I explained I was locked out. I talked her through where my extra key would be. There was a key for my old car and one unidentified key. My dad vetoed the idea of them driving me a key we weren’t sure would work, offering to help monetarily instead. Then I heard my dad’s voice saying, “Or she could try calling …” and then he was too quiet to hear. Mom translated. He had recommended I call your police department. He knew that option would be free if it was a service you offered. Next cheapest, would probably be calling a towing company. I hung up with her, starting to feel excited. I spun on my heels to face the young men behind the counter. “What’s your non-emergency police number?” They passed me the sheet and my eyes greedily searched for the number. I called and the lovely dispatcher on the other end sent an officer to assist.

I called the other company back and cancelled their services.

After thanking the young men profusely, I wandered about waiting for the officer to arrive. In a matter of minutes, I was looking at Officer VonBereghy’s SUV pulling up next to my car.  He unlocked my car in a matter of maybe a minute. When I thanked him, he said, “Just doing my job, ma’am.” As he drove away, I ran back inside to shake the young men’s hands. One was already otherwise preoccupied and the other seemed befuddled that I was back only for that.

Needless to say, these guys deserve a shout out/applause.

Hooray for awesome people!
Simone

Leave a Reply

