50 – Go To A High School Play With [Most Of] My Family

Sitting in my room one night, I heard a knock on my door. “Hey, Simone. What are you doing Saturday night [two weeks from now]?” This was a surprise. My brother doesn’t normally invite me to many things in advance.
“Um, I’d have to check. What’s going on?”
“There’s a play that [a friend of his is] in. Should I have them set aside a ticket for you?”
“Sure, sounds fun! I think I could be around.”

The day of the play, my parents gave me the breakdown. It would take three hours to get there, so we would be going to dinner as a family first. My sister would not be joining us. She would be in Chicago at a ComicCon. My brothers found out they would be headed to Minnesota for work the next day and thus had to drive separately.

On the way out the door, I grabbed my purse, my jacket, shoes, and three books. I finished one book and made it half way through a second before we got to the restaurant. Dinner was delicious. We ate quickly as we ran out of time. When our waitress asked, “Does anyone want dessert?” I looked at Mom, she looked at me. Dad said, “No, thank you.”
“Wait!” Mom said.
She and I split a piece of cheesecake with the whole table. It was delicious!

From there, we drove another half hour to the school. We were warmly greeted by people my brother knew. I could not remember the last time I was at a play with my family. I have gone alone, with friends, or with my sister, but not the other members. We were shown to the seats they had saved and I picked up a program from my seat. “Come and Meet Those Dancing Feet” was written near the top. I smiled. I knew instantly I would like this play.

42nd Street is famous, but that’s all I knew about it. The story of a sweet girl getting her big break on broadway in the midst of many miscommunications, rivalries, love triangles, and challenges wasn’t something I knew about. The dance numbers were my favorite. These kids had gone through an awful lot of work to nail those tap steps. I was impressed!

At the end of the play, we went to the lobby to meet up with the ones we knew from the play. My family was invited to their house for ice cream. We talked, laughed, hugged, and spent an enjoyable hour with them. By the end of the evening, I felt like I had new friends and promised to teach a dance class for them in the future.

Here’s to making new friends,
Simone

Leave a Reply

