I’m Back

Hello, friends!

I’m sorry for my absence. One of you reached out to me and asked me not to give up on this blog. I haven’t entirely. I gave up on posting, but not on the goal itself. I will try not to be too overwhelming as I add to the blog all that you missed. I also will try to do better about posting in a more timely fashion.

What you should be aware of is that I feel like a different person. There’s a gaping hole in my heart. I’m tucking my dad’s memory safely inside of it and trying to cauterize the wound. This is taking time and I go through bouts of hardcore grief. I would call it depression, but it’s not the same. I can’t describe it accurately.

My dad was a special person. He was the most positive person I knew – aside from myself. He was almost always happy and loved to laugh. He was a hero, a police man, a loving father and husband, and he was the perfect dad for me. God knew what He was doing when He placed me in this family. It’s so different now that my fellow hugger is gone.

The rest of my family is doing well. My siblings go off to work like always. A couple of them say it hasn’t really sunk in yet that Dad’s truly never coming home. My mom is doing well. She stays busy and never was one to show her emotions, so I’m not sure we’ll ever truly know all that she’s going through.

All your prayers and well-wishes are appreciated. You all have my gratitude.

Here’s looking at you, kid –

2 thoughts on “I’m Back

  1. This blog may or may not be for all intents and purposes for you, but I hope that after you were reached out to by that person, you’ve been able to see that what you are doing also impacts the lives of others who get to read this, and see a little bit of the incredible person you are. Maybe someday I’ll have the privilege of getting to know you more. For now, thank you for what you are doing. We’re all rooting, and praying for you Simone.

    “For thou wilt light my candle: the Lord my God will enlighten my darkness.” Psalms 18:28 KJV

    Like

Leave a Reply

